H-U-G-S

Can we ever get it right, people? I don’t want loosey, goosey, sloppy joe hugs anymore. I don’t want hugs that feel like I am holding a statue, either. I don’t want our waists to suddenly have polarized magnets around them that push them far from each other. I don’t want you to lead in with one arm — hitting me square in the chest with your shoulder. I might not even want to talk while we hug, but I know that I’m asking a lot already.

I want a real hug! I want an EMBRACE! If you are feeling particularly courageous, I’d like to hold you for a moment longer, long enough to feel your chest expand out with an inhale, and collapse with an exhale. I’d like to feel your body gently move into mine. I’d like you to wrap you arms around me. Heck, if you are feeling really daring, I’d like it if you leaned your head in to the right instead of the left, that way our hearts line up during the embrace. If you’re feeling excited, give me a squeeze. If you’re feeling sad, fall into my arms. If you’re in a hurry, stop.

I want a real hug!

1 Comment

  1. Pamela Huggins said,

    August 11, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    ASHAY my friend! This Huggins has been passing along tips and tricks about REAL hugs to all my relations for many many years! WELL SAID.

    Thanks for reminding everyone what exactly a HUG is really about!

    Pamelove Huggins & Kisses
    (Pamela Huggins)
    ❤ ❤ ❤


Leave a Reply

